top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllie-Louise Des Baux

Tips for Travel Anxiety: Prague Edition


Prague Bridge

Anxiety can sneak up on you at the most unexpected times, especially while travelling.


Social media may lead us to believe that holidays are all smiles, bikini pictures, and beautiful landscapes that leave the rest of us pining for relaxation. However, beyond the photo, there are stories we don't see and anxiety may be one of them.


Travel Anxiety may manifest itself in many ways, such as feelings of dread, a lack of concentration, and restlessness, to name a few. It's common to feel this way and there are steps you can take to reduce your stress.


When in Prague...


In February, I went to Prague with my partner and I was buzzing leading up to our departure. Days went passed wishing to be out of the usual 9-5 routine, but when it finally came around, my chest was heavy with a sense of impending dread. Throughout the whole journey I was on edge, questions racing around my head: What if there's a crash? What if someone put something in my bag without me knowing? What if there's a bomb on the plane?

It may sound ridiculous to some people but to me, in those moments, it was all too possible. You may be thinking, but when you got there everything was fine! Unfortunately, that wasn't the case.


The first few days were strained. The feeling of being in an unknown city, the language barrier being all too clear and a limited supply of spending money meant each day was filled with sweaty palms and heavy hearts.


We found the local supermarket and thought we would grab some freshwater and snacks. While my partner was obsessing over the range of chocolates they had, I was obsessed with how compact the store was. People rushing past you trying to get their shopping done and get on with their evening. I felt like a gigantic statue in the middle of the aisle interrupting the natural flow of Wednesday shoppers.


The more I looked the less I saw as my vision became blurred and everything felt like it was closing in on me. My breathing became staggered, my heartbeat was in my ears and my body was getting hotter by the minute.

Yes, I was scared, but retrospectively, there were things I could've done to prevent those feelings taking control of me.

How to manage travel anxiety


If you've ever suffered from an anxiety attack or a panic attack you know they can be scary and hard to control, but there are differences between them. An anxiety attack is often described as a feeling of fear, shortness of breath, a racing heart and will usually disperse when the stressor goes away. A panic attack can induce similar feelings but is often unprovoked and lasts for much longer.


If you're prone to anxiety attacks, especially on holiday, there are preventative measures you can take to make your trip more enjoyable. When you have anxiety, it can be helpful to approach your fears head-on, such as making a phone call or meeting someone for lunch. The same logic applies when you're on holiday, however, it's good to know your limits and understand your triggers. Keep reading for my tips for travelling with anxiety:

1. Allow for extra time


Airports are stressful at the best of times, but when you're running late the experience can trigger some people's anxiety. If this is you, try factoring in extra time when planning your travel arrangements. You will avoid the 2-hour ques and get through the security checks quicker.

2. Research


Between the language barrier, foreign food, and varying laws, it's no wonder travelling to new countries is a common worry. Before you go, research the area to understand local etiquette, common sayings in the local language and recommendations for your trip! When you arrive you'll feel like you've been there before.

3. Forgive yourself


If you're feeling overwhelmed when you arrive at your destination, it's natural. When I was away, we went out for the day but often just wanted to go back to the hotel a few hours later. I was grateful I had been out to explore but my mind needed a break. This trip was about relaxing and I could still do that from our room. Anxiety can be physically and mentally exhausting; the key is to accept and understand that your body needs to rest. Be forgiving.

4. Inhale... and Exhale


When you notice signs of an anxiety attack, it can feel like the world is closing in on us and with no way out. In these moments don't forget to breathe. It sounds simple but taking deep intentional breaths will take the focus away from the stressor and slow down your racing heart.


Try this:

Breathe in through your nose for 4 seconds. Hold the breath and then breathe out your mouth for 4 seconds. Hold the breath and repeat.

5. Fact check your thoughts


Fact-checking is a fantastic tool for anyone with anxiety as it keeps you grounded and immediately lowers stress. If you're worried about a plane crash, for example, you can fact check this by saying: These pilots are highly skilled and trained professionals, there are thousands of successful flights every day, I'm in safe hands. It's simple but effective and will help manage your thoughts.

6. Understand your triggers


Be mindful of what makes you feel anxious. If hearing about plane crashes triggers you, communicate this with your travel companions and reduce opportunities to hear about them. If the idea of getting lost scares you, take a map and keep your phone charged at all times. Preparing for and understanding your triggers means you can avoid stressful situations and be ready if you cannot avoid it.


Before going to Prague, I was terrified about running out of money. I attempted to plan activities and meal costs for every day, so I was able to predict how much we would need. I will admit I'm a bit of an organisation freak, but this was not a healthy thing to do.


My partner didn't understand my methodology because he's more of an 'I'll see how it goes' person, so we balance each other out quite well. A healthier option would've been to have a friend or family member on standby to lend us some extra cash if needed. Alternatively, we should've planned to use our savings, that is what it's there for after all!


7. Communication

If you're travelling with someone, discuss your triggers with them and how they can help. In retrospect, I should've spoken to my partner and discussed what would've helped. At that moment, I needed to feel safe and I needed someone to hold me up, physically and emotionally, however, the things that calm you down will be unique to you. Find what feels good and let them know.


Anxiety is a complex condition and different for everyone. What works for you, may not work for someone else. It's important to find what is right for you and communicate it when you can. Remember you booked this trip for enjoyment, so do your best and have a great time!


Disclaimer: I'm not a trained healthcare professional and these tips are based on extensive research and personal experience. Please get in contact if you feel there is anything that needs changing.

33 views0 comments
bottom of page